BRSCC Fiesta Junior Championship | News | Ford Fiesta Racing

Nathan Edwards & Michael Higgs inherit Combe wins

Nathan Edwards took maximum points from Round 9 at Combe. Photo:

Castle Combe circuit hosted rounds 9 & 10 of the FJC season yesterday and in his third season in the Championship Tunbridge Wells driver Nathan Edwards recorded his first race win, albeit not in a fashion that he would have wished for.

Track limits penalties were the talk of the paddock after Cameron Pugh took the chequered flag after 14 laps of round 9 only for his maiden victory to be denied when he was given a five second penalty for infringing the track limits. The penalty was just enough to drop him down to second behind the new race winner Nathan.  Ronan Quinn was the third man home and held that position after all the judicials had been applied.

Unfortunately, the second race proved to be a similar story. Aaron Thompson recovered from his first race technical problem, which saw him finish tenth, to win the second race just ahead of title rival Michael Higgs. However, Aaron also fell victim to a time penalty – this one for 15 seconds after two separate track limits infringements, which demoted him to fourth. Higgs duly took the win with Ronan Quinn again second and Lewis Kent bumped up to third, his first visit to the podium and his best performance yet by some distance.

Looking at the standings once all the dust had settled, what had appeared a bad weekend for Aaron Thompson wasn’t as damaging as it might have been as Michael Higgs only managed to reduce the gap by a solitary point. Michael will have to make some inroads soon, starting at the next meeting back on the Silverstone National circuit in four weeks’ time. Aaron won both rounds there at the season opener back in April so it will be a tall order.

You can see all the timing sheets and race results at COMBE RESULTS


Next Race

Cadwell Park - 10th - 11th Apr 2021

Last Race

Croft 31st Oct 2020

Current Standings

Driver Accrued Points Adjusted Total
1 Joseph Loake 412 362
2 William Orton 342 312
3 Bradley Beavers 298 268